Spitting Cobras lead to carpal tunnel! Wait! What?

Where are the muscles that move your fingers and why is it important to know?  They are in your forearm.  These muscles transition into tendons that go through the wrist joint and attach to your finger bones—in layman’s terms.

 “Keep your wrists straight while typing” is a key principle in our office ergonomics program—Sittingsafe®.  You want to minimize friction and resistance in your wrist area to prevent accumulated repetitive stress. 

 This is why we don’t want you using those darn “feet” in the back of the keyboard!  When these are utilized, the back of your keyboard is raised, which in turn, forces your wrists to bend (spitting cobra style!).  If anything, the front of your keyboard should be raised so that your wrists can stay straight.  Your keyboard is at the correct height when your hands are slightly below your elbows when typing. 

 F.I.T. Rule:  “Keep wrists straight” and not just when typing.

 We have helped prevent surgeries for those that work on computers, buff floors, use jackhammers, and in countless manufacturing jobs.  Hand and wrist pain can alter your lifestyle considerably.  Use these tips to help keep you happy, healthy and in the game!

 Let us know if this helps!

Explore posts in the same categories: Carpal Tunnel, Ergonomics, Injury prevention, Sittingsafe, Sprain/Strain Injuries, Workers' Comp

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Spitting Cobras lead to carpal tunnel! Wait! What?”

  1. Riley Brunskill Says:

    you can always prevent carpal tunnel syndrome by changing the position of your hands every 30 minutes or so. A simple solution to a very bad problem. ,`,`*

    Yours truly http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com“>


  2. Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading your
    articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that go over the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

    • backsafe® Says:

      Thanks for the positive feedback! I haven’t searched for similar articles, so I can’t recommend any. When I do find a good one, I’ll definitely add it to our blog roll.

  3. Natalie Says:

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good site!


Leave a Reply

